Newbie to the Group

Introduce yourself to the forum.
(Guests Welcome)

Newbie to the Group

Postby Andi2 » February 1st, 2005, 3:19 pm

Hi Everyone..I just found this site..I have never done Medifast before so have been reading over info. on the web as well as on this site..I am a Mom of 2 and have about 128 lbs. to lose...I have never been this big in my life but with the loss of some loved ones...and some other stressful situations I turned to food to stuff/medicate all the feelings and have just blown up like a puffer fish!!...I know I need to deal with the emotional..as well as the physical aspects of my weight and with Gods help..I hope to start the journey here..I have been on almost every diet under the sun with limited success..I did a Hi-Energy program several years back that resembles this plan..I actually did well on it and am thinking maybe Medifast will work for me also...I have read a couple posts that mention the 5-1 plan..I would like to start with this plan..I read someone mention about starter kits?..Can you tell me is this what I need to begin the 5-1 plan and can I purchase it on this site?..Thank you for any advice or help getting pointed in the right direction..((Hugs))..Andi
Andi2

Postby raederle » February 1st, 2005, 6:16 pm

Hi Andi, and welcome! You certainly found the right place if you're lookin' for support, nice people, and lots of info...

As for your questions, I don't want to overwhelm you with too much info, but basically, the two forms of Medifast are "Full Supplement" and "5 & 1." The difference is that Full Supp means you eat nothing but MF foods for all 6 daily mini-meals; on the 5 & 1 plan you eat 5 MF foods and also one "lean & green" meal consisting of real food-- for women, 4 - 5 oz. lean protein plus 2 cups of salad or 1.5 cups of cooked veggies.