Couple of questions about the medifast program

Questions/Comments about Weight loss Products.

Couple of questions about the medifast program

Postby Haxie » November 21st, 2003, 2:23 pm

I am a newbie here, and on the introducion page, I was informed about the Medifast diet products.

If I am not mistaken, they are essentially protein shakes that are utiized as a meal replacement, and help the body enter a ketogenic state so that it burns fat instead of storing it.

I am all for the low carb lifestyle, in fact, I feel my best when I simply cut out sugars, starches, and processed foods in general, but replacing my meals with a liquid diet? How in the name of all that is holy do you do that and not go mad?

I mean seriously, at what point do you draw the line between 'being thinner' and enjoying life?

For example, I am currently 6'4" and 280 lbs, and am down about 20 lbs as a result of the aforementioned low carb lifestyle. I enjoy eating. I repeat, I ENJOY EATING. I eat good stuff: Chicken, fish, steaks, chops, lots of broccoli, cauliflauer, carrots, nuts, cheese, and I do eat a lot of fruits and other veggies that do contain some sugars and starches, but for the most part, it's whole foods.

If I were told I was going to be 280 for the rest of my life unless I switched to a liquid meal replacement, then I would simply tell that person...OK. Now pass me that Porterhouse and brocolli.

Am I missing something on this plan?

Who is it geared to? Is it the guy like me that needs to drop 20-30 lbs, or the guy that needs to drop 100 lbs or more?

Once you start Medifast, do you have to keep drinking the shakes, or what?

I don't want to discourage you guys, in fact, if you are doing and succeeding HATS OFF TO YOU, but man, this just does not sound like something I could do.

Sir Hacksalot
"There are only three things that scare me: snakes, needles, and women with knives."
Haxie

Re: Couple of questions about the medifast program