Treadmill advice

Fitness and Exercise

Treadmill advice

Postby Ketann » July 6th, 2006, 3:06 pm

I posted this in my journal. Hubby decided I deserve a motivational reward gift for losing 65 pounds so far. A treadmill. It is my job to find a good one. Any advice? I saw a Smooth 6.5 that is $1500 that looks good and was rated well, but I'm not an expert. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks :)
Ketann
Preferred Member - #40 Club

Postby Serendipity » July 6th, 2006, 3:56 pm

We have a Nordic Trak treadmill that we bought at Sears. It was pretty expensive ($3000 if I remember right), but it works great. You can run up to 10mi/hr on this one. If you aren't planning on jogging (my husband jogs, not me!), though, you probably don't need one with that much juice. Another thing that made ours pricey was that you can hook it up to your computer and go to a website that can give you training routes depending on your level of fitness.......guess what??...we don't use that at all. I just get on it and walk, lol. Oh yeah, it also has a heart rate monitor and a calorie burn counter.

I would suggest that you go somewhere to try them out because they all feel different. Some of the cheaper ones felt like walking on cardboard, while the more expensive ones are like walking on air.....hope this helps.
jo
276/135 since December 1, 2006
"Grandma, how did you make yourself so little?", My grandson, Jake
Serendipity
Preferred Member - #140 Club
Preferred Member - #140 Club

Postby Jen » July 6th, 2006, 5:26 pm

One suggestion I have is to look into purchasing a used treadmill. There is tons of like-new exercise equipment available, either from private sellers, retail stores, or online from closed gyms. You might be able to afford a better treadmill for the same price as one of a lesser quality.

I Don't know what stores are in your area but Play It Again Sports is an example of a good place to check out.
Start date: 6/22/06 : 36 : 5'7" : 262/190/140
Jen
Preferred Member - 70# Club