Dry Skin

Introduce yourself to the forum.
(Guests Welcome)

Dry Skin

Postby cute » April 14th, 2007, 11:30 am

Hi, I'm new to Medifast and have been doing it for about a week. The last couple days the skin on my face and neck is peeling and itchy. I am wondering if this could be related to the diet or not. Anyone else have this problem and/or a solution? Thanks!
cute

Postby Nancy » April 14th, 2007, 2:44 pm

Hi there, Cute ~

Since you are just in the beginning stage here, it is most likely due to detoxification - the meal replacements are high in protein and have an excellent supply of nutrients. There are times some people experience some breakouts or itchy skin during the initial week or two. Most of us do not have it happen but when it does, it can feel like a major irritant.

It is really important to drink a lot of water - it will help to flush the toxins out of your system. Medifast is somewhat dehydrating so slurp that water!

Use a mild moisturizing lotion such as Eucerin. It will get better. Do not give up! If you have some itchies, a couple Benadryl tablets every 4-6 hours can help to keep the itches away - after a few days or a week or so, it goes away. Promise...
Nothing tastes as good as thin feels...
The Formerly FLABulous and Now very Fabulous
Nancy Pettit
267/130
Nancy
Certified Health Advisor - #130 Club

Postby cute » April 14th, 2007, 4:35 pm

I so appreciate that information. I'm starting to itch all over. I've been drinking a ton of water and in the bathroom all the time.

It's a relief knowing it'll go away!
cute

Postby Nancy » April 14th, 2007, 5:09 pm