does fast weight loss leave loose skin?

Questions/Comments about Weight loss Products.

does fast weight loss leave loose skin?

Postby lulu » April 6th, 2004, 1:48 pm

I'm just starting out and am really worried that I'll have huge flaps of loose skin on my stomach and arms, among other places!
Also, I've read that rapid weight loss can cause a person to lose muscle instead of fat.
Help!
lulu

Postby explorthis » April 6th, 2004, 2:54 pm

Options...

110 pounds I dropped in about 120-130 days. I started 6'3" at 337#. I lost rapidly. Very rapidly. Skin hanging? Some, yes. Not enough for me to run to Mack the knife. I think it’s all relative. I know I am at a perfect weight for my size, but I still see some lose skin.

What are my options? The knife? Nope. Exercise? Yes, I am to an extent. Lose slower? Lets ask the group how losing slow goes. We created this person, and we have to deal with the ramifications that come from weight loss, slow or fast. I really don’t think, and I could be wrong, that if I took 2 years to lose 100 pounds, or 3-1/2 months, in the general scheme of things the skin elasticity would be the same. Is it Collagen? I heard when you hit your late 30’s or 40’s (do not quote me) you lose the elasticity somewhat in your skin. Yes, I have some “loose” stuff, but it is the way it is.

I pretty much have the philosophy, if you don’t like me for what I am (WHAT I AM) then you can pound sand to your heart’s content. I am Mike, and this is me.

My 10 cents.
Was 337/223 is goal (about 40 to go)
explorthis
Preferred Member - #100 Club
Preferred Member - #100 Club

Postby Landylue » April 6th, 2004, 7:02 pm

A friend of mine lost right at 90 lbs, but she exercised EVERY DAY by running, a lot of water aerobics, jump rope, weights etc. There was absolutely NOTHING hanging on her at all, and she was over 50 at the time.