Coffee and Medifast

Post your weight loss successes or failures here...:)

Coffee and Medifast

Postby betz » September 27th, 2005, 6:50 am

I'm an avid coffee drinker who is always trying to cut down/watch my caffeine intake.

Earlier this week I was feeling really bad. Hungry all the time and weak, fatigued. I was beginning to blame Medifast when I realized...I was drinking decaf instead of the half caffeinated/half decaf blend that I'd been drinking before!

It was just withdrawal from caffeine and not MF.

My point is, it might not be a good idea to try going off caffeine "cold turkey" on Medifast (or maybe even NOT on MF). I'm still working on cutting down but slowly this time. I feel back in control again. Whew :)
betz
Trusted Member - #10 Club

Postby jenn161012 » September 27th, 2005, 7:01 am

As a graduate student, I was totally addicted to coffee. I drank about 8 cups per day to help me stay awake so I could study. When starting Medifast, I did stop cold turkey. I had a terrible headache for the first day or two, but it quickly went away.

What is great is that I save $1.31 per day because I no longer purchase a cup of coffee at the campus bookstore before class. Now, those dollars go to Medifast! :D

228/216.5/140
Jennifer
Re-start: 6/4/06
221/218/140

<edit>incorrect ticker removed - UT</edit>
jenn161012
Regular Member - #10 Club

Postby betz » September 27th, 2005, 7:17 am

Oh college does it every time! I never drank coffee until I started art school.

That's SO good that you got rid of that habit and replaced it with MF.

I guess it's good to understand, if you're new to MF ...to not blame MF for feeling crappy for the first few days...but to realize that many of your previous habits (that you're quitting) are responsible for making you feel not so great.

Curious-- do you drink decaf now? OR do you just avoid coffee altogether?
betz

Postby kimalexrn » September 27th, 2005, 8:04 am