Weight Loss During First Week?

Questions/Comments about Weight loss Products.

Postby KimKim » May 24th, 2006, 1:55 pm

Hi Folks,

I'm new to Medifast (and the boards). I lost 3 pounds my first week and I'm okay and encouraged by that but I was wondering . . . it seemed like other folks on here lost alot more weight during their first week.

Is it common to lose alot of weight during the first week on Medifast like alot of people do the first week of any diet? (you know, 7, 8, 12 pounds, etc.?).

I admit I slipped up a couple of times but I'm doing much better this week.

Kim
KimKim
Trusted Member - #20 Club

Postby alpha femme » May 24th, 2006, 2:33 pm

i was wondering the same thing. i lost 5lbs this last week, but i weigh 300! one would think that i would HAVE to lose more than that since i am on the complete fast, not cheating and (in theory) would need 3,000 calories a day to maintain my weight.
alpha femme
Preferred member

Postby loriannk » May 24th, 2006, 2:51 pm

Let me start out by saying everyone loses at there own pace. Some lose lots and some only lose a pound or two a week. You have to be patience. The weight will come off.

Your body may not have had alot of water weight to lose as that is what most lose in the first week. I lost 6 lbs my first week and now lose about 2 - 3 lbs a week.

Kim... since you admited to not being 100% compliant with the program the first week that may be why you didnt lose as much as you hoped.

Csula... you lost 5 lbs! That is a great first week loss. Maybe the complete fast is keeping you from losing more. Your body may be shutting down from such a drastic drop in calories. If your doctor did not recomend the fast I would switch to the 5/1 plan. Most will say you will lose the same amount of weight in the long run. If I am wrong someone will correct me.

Anyway that is my 2 cents.

Good luck.

Lori
3 kids ages 2, 8 & 9
loriannk
Preferred Member - #20 Club

Postby KimKim » May 24th, 2006, 9:33 pm

Hey you two,