Cut out my exercise ?

Fitness and Exercise

Cut out my exercise ?

Postby Karli » June 26th, 2006, 10:22 am

As I am preparing to start the 'Take Shape for life' program, I have one small reservation and quandary...

I had been exercizing everyday. And lately, if I am not doing it everyday, I aim to, anyway. But, I happen to have a ton of muscle in my build and since I have been doing some fairly serious weight lifting for a few months (again) now, I have gained a lot more muscle and strength (that I don't want to give up on).

I am under the impression that once I begin the program (5/1) that I will need to either stop or dramatically cut back on the exercise that I have been doing, especially the weight-lifting. *having a hard time with this*

Partly, too, because (like playing the piano and singing) if I don't get to exercise I get pretty cranky... I need that outlet.

But, I do realize that if I am on the TakeShape for life program that I will be comsuming far less calories during the day and probably not enough to compensate for the work I do in the gym. I definitely do not want to be low energy during the day because of this, so I am willing to do whatever I need to do.

Could somebody offer a little more insight about this all ?

Thanks,
Karli
Last edited by Karli on June 26th, 2006, 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Karli
Preferred Member - #50 Club

Postby Sarya » June 26th, 2006, 10:26 am

The reason why you are supposed to cut back your exercise is because the medifast 5&1 plan does not have sufficient calories etc to sustain a high level of exercise. I've heard some people on this board add an extra supplement or L&G if they are exercising more than we are supposed to.

Someone else may be able to give you more info, but that is the summary I've seen in the past :)
Sarya
Preferred Member - #40 Club

Postby Karli » June 26th, 2006, 10:33 am