I want it & I want it now!

Post your weight loss successes or failures here...:)

I want it & I want it now!

Postby Carrie » March 3rd, 2004, 11:40 am

I've been thinking....... I know....... UH OH.

I've been battling my evil food monger (e.f.m.) and reading all these posts and one thing is jumping out at me. Very frequently one of us is disappointed by ONLY a 2 or 3 or heck even 9 pound loss in one week. We wished it was more, it should be more, WHY ISN'T IT MORE!?! And we want it now! Not tomorrow, NOW. We've worked for it, suffered for it, give it to us NOW, we deserve it.

I imagine there's a scientific hypothesis behind my next statement, but alas and alack, I'm no scientist. But even so it seems to me that there is a limit to what our bodies can safely lose within the period of a few days. Add to that the arithmetic of calories in and calories burned and I think it's probably only reasonable to lose a couple (few) pounds a week. Don't we have to burn off 3000 calories to lose a pound? Or is it 3500? Our daily activities only add up to so much caloric use, and I doubt any of us are in the shape to go run a marathon one day to boost that loss a few pounds. Right?

I said something in a post yesterday about not being able to see past the minute in front of my face. Isn't that what this whole issue is about??? From gaining the weight to trying to lose it, it's about instant gratification versus delayed gratification.

I have taught myself that I can stuff my body with food at any given moment and FEEL GOOD while I'm doing it. And I woulda made a FANTASTIC dog for Mr. Pavlov, cause lemme tell ya the bell rings and I'm the first one in line at McD's panting for an extra value meal.